Neon Zebra by Fancy

colorfulZebra

 

I found this while browsing the internet and it really caught my attention. I love using animals as the subject for art (which is something readers can gather from my blog posts I’m sure) and I’m definitely a color girl…especially neon colors. I love their energy. So this piece is really neat because it almost looks as if the zebra was spray painted as graffiti on some night club wall. I especially love how the black sections of the animals fur actually becomes the background, so the only actual positive space in the bright colors. It’s a really good way to keep the piece from becoming to busy when using that many bright colors.

Actually creating this look would probably be a bit of headache, as I imagine it would require a number of hours tracing with the pen tool in Illustrator, then adding paint splatters and uniting them with the drawn paths to create the dripping paint effect. Not incredibly difficult in theory, but still a lot of work. It’s a great piece though, really fun to look at, and I could imagine a number of uses it could have.

Leave a Reply

