Throughout The Storm You Keep Me Warm

throughoutthestorm_11x14_illo

This is another work I found on pinterest and seriously I want to get it printed and framed for my room I like it so much. It’s has a perfect balance of detail and simplicity and I love the demonstration of typography (even if it was hand done). I might just have to create one for myself…and this is how I’d do it:

I’d start by drawing up a design and creating my letters with pencil and paper. Once I am happy with my initial design, I’d scan it into the computer and fire up illustrator. I’d trace the letters (oh so carefully) with the pen tool, or might even fine a like font, create outlines, and use the select tool to drag their points around so I get a letter like the one I drew. Once I created all the letters, I’d create additional ornamentation like the swirls under the word “storm” using the pen tool. Once I got the vector just like I liked it (arranging elements and what not to create the most appealing design possible), I’d import it into photoshop to create the final piece. To make the background, I’d download some paintbrush-textured photoshop brushes. I’d put a gradient of my choice (it looks like they used a light blue to a red) and put it on the lowest layer. I’d put another layer on top and fill it with dark blue and then mask it and use the brushes I downloaded to create the scratchy worn effect. Finally, I’d import my illustrator file and put it on top, change the colors to find the best match and pat myself on the back for all the hard work.

Leave a Reply

